Thought for the Day

It has been years since I’ve read William James‘ lectures which he delivered at Edinburgh in 1901-1902. These lectures were compiled and printed in THE VARIETIES OF RELIGIOUS EXPERIENCE A Study in Human Nature BEING THE GIFFORD LECTURES ON NATURAL RELIGION DELIVERED IN 1901-1902.

I purchased this book in the 1950s and some of the pages are fairly dog-eared so I obviously spent some time with the book in those days.

 

In the chapter entitled Lecture VIII THE DIVIDED SELF, AND THE PROCESS OF ITS UNIFICATION, James writes that

There are two lives, the natural and the spiritual, and we must lose the one before we can participate in the other.

James went on to quote one Billy Bray:  “I can’t help praising the Lord.  As I go along the street, I lift up one foot, and it seems to say ‘Glory’; and I lift up the other, and it seems to say ‘Amen’; and so they keep up like that all the time I am walking.”


About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on January 9, 2010, in Books, Quote of the Day, Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

