suffering

I have a friend who is suffering horribly with Stage Four Cancer Poorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine; there is not one single moment that she is pain-free and the pain is off the charts.  My friend Chris  and her family have tremendous faith and as I follow her “Ups and Downs”  – as one of her daughters posted on an internet blog – my heart aches and my eyes weep.  It is hard to comprehend Chris’s suffering and there is no explanation as to the questions of “why?” . . .  Why??

Elaine M. Prevallet writes in “Carrying in the Body the Death of Jesus” that Jesus never taught suffering as a value in itself.

The postings on Chris’s blog about her cancer illuminate the tremendous faith and love within her family;  friends regularly post encouraging messages to support her as she undergoes the pain of this insidious disease.  These messages and seeing the love, strong faith, and faithfulness of Chris’s family is heart-warming.

BUT, I still rail at the horrible pain Chris is enduring.  At our impotence.  At the unfairness of it all (I know:  that tired old phrase that Life Ain’t Fair).

I also know the well-worn phrase that it is how we deal with suffering (no matter how small or how large) that  is instructive and strengthens our faith and draws us closer to God and to one another.

I know.  I know.

I know that like Jesus, we suffer and we die. 

I know.  I know.

Chris is dealing with her suffering the same way she has lived her life: with courage and grace and unfaltering faith in her God.

However, I hate she has to deal with it at all . . .

I am assured that Chris is in the loving heart of God; God is with her every minute of her interminable pain; He never wavers in this love.  No one suffers alone, yet every sufferer is singular and unique.

I know.  I know.

But I still hate it all . . .

David Rensberger writes that

. .  . The message of the Cross of Christ is not that God will shield us from suffering, but that we can encounter God in our suffering, even as God has encountered us in human suffering.  God knows our suffering.  Coming into God’s presence as sufferers, we can learn who we are, in our suffering and beyond suffering, and we can learn who God is, the God who suffers and the God who both transcends and transforms suffering.

May Chris be aware of God’s holy presence

every minute of every day.


About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on January 6, 2010, in concerns, friends and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

