Where does time go?

Where does time go?

It seems as though the years have just whizzed by without me noticing.  My grandchildren are in their teens; my mirror reflects this strange dumpy grey-haired woman and I can’t remember where the young brunette girl went (it seems she was here just the other day).

. .  the research suggests that the brain has more control over its own perception of passing time than people may know. For example, many people have the defeated sense that it was just yesterday that they made last year’s resolutions; the year snapped shut, and they didn’t start writing that novel or attend even one Pilates class. But it is precisely because they didn’t act on their plan that the time seemed to have flown away.

At the beginning of 2010, I feel as though I squandered 2009.

The good thing: a fresh start now – in Twenty-Ten!

“Here’s to the bright New Year, and a fond farewell to the old; here’s to the things that are yet to come, and to the memories that we hold.”


About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on January 5, 2010, in Quote of the Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. 2009 did whiz by and the days are getting shorter. They all go so fast. That’s a reason I have for taking off on my new adventure. I don’t know where it will take me, but I want to go on the ride before I no longer can.

  2. I can sense your excitement about your New Adventure . . . and I know it will be a great journey!

    “Let your mind start a journey thru a strange new world. Leave all thoughts of the world you knew before. Let your soul take you where you long to be…Close your eyes let your spirit start to soar, and you’ll live as you’ve never lived before.” [Erich Fromm]

Leave a Reply

