Teaser Tuesday

Back then and back home, there among kudzu in the westward cup of Crowley’s Ridge and eastward levees built to keep the river out, I’d been a golden child, headed for greatness–greatness meaning only escape from that town and its mean horizons.  I’d ridden the cockhorse of a scholarship down the river to New Orleans, then back up it to Chicago (following the course of jazz) where, once I had secured a fellowship, head and future pointed like twin bullets towards professordom.

This is actually a re-read for I read Sallis’ book when it was first published in 2003.  From the book jacket:  James Sallis is the author of two dozen volumes of fiction (including the highly praised Lew Griffin novels), poetry, biography, translations, essays, and criticism and writes a regular column for the Boston Globe’s book review section.  he lives in Phoenix, Arizona.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on December 29, 2009, in Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

