Teaser Tuesday (more than two sentences)

“It’s not for me.  It’s for every nurse or female intern who has had to put up with being belittled and demeaned, having her backside fondled or her intelligence questioned.  It’s for you, Hanna.  And all the women of your generation, who’ll never have to be harassed and leered at in a workplace again, because women like me struggled, and survived.  And I run things now, and I don’t let anyone forget it.”

People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks is good reading – don’t know why I had not read it before now.  I’m only about halfway through the novel at this point – and can’t wait to read the next chapter.

People of the Book (theological concept in Islam)

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on December 21, 2009, in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Good teaser! The book is on my wishlist 🙂

    Mine is from Knife by R.J.Anderson

  2. What an excellent choice of teaser – and yes it is an excellent book!

  3. wow…sounds like a great book. I am a muslim and it makes me interested

  4. If I remember correctly this was a pretty powerful moment in the book. Good teaser.

  5. Great teaser — sounds like a good book for the Women Unbound challenge.

  6. This sounds like a great book! Thanks for the teaser.

  7. Very good teaser! Sounds like a good book.

  8. This does sound like a good book! Happy Holidays! Mine’s here.

  9. I haven’t read this book, but I loved Year of Wonders and March. It sounds like a strong female voice!

    Stephanie aka Laughing Stars
    Tuesday Teaser: Wild Roses by Deb Caletti

Leave a Reply

