the truckin’ days

B. F. Walker, Inc.

I can’t remember the year that Hubby began working for B. F. Walker, Inc.  He was working for Halliburton Oil Company when we first met (in Farmington, New Mexico during the BIG oil and gas boom in the Four Corners area in the 1950s).  Shortly after he came back from his stint in the Army he began employment with B. F. Walker (a subsidiary of  Noble Corporation).

In 1983 when we were living in Denver,  Hubby and a friend purchased B. F. Walker and those trucks provided our bucks until DH retired and we moved from Denver to Seguin, Texas.

My!  The turns life takes . . . or the choices we make I guess I should say – it was been a marvelous journey!   We have dear friends from all of the places we have lived or visited and I’m especially counting my blessings during this Holy Season.

B. F. Walker was incorporated in 1939 in Arkansas.  The company initially had horse-driven wagons, I understand.

Trivia:  a trucking company purchased a poem my mother wrote about a truckdriver and printed it on business cards to give to all of their truckdrivers.  How I would like to have one of those cards now.  When my mom and my dad were dating (in the 1930s), he was driving a truck loaded with potatoes from the northeastern part of New Mexico to the southern part of New Mexico (I imagine on a daily basis).  He was quite likely the flirty truckdriver she penned.

Although she never told me, I imagine they were in his truck when they eloped to Tucumcari, New Mexico in 1937! Perhaps on a potato run??

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on December 18, 2009, in 1950s, Colorado, family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. My father worked for B.F Walker in the mid 50’s. His name was A.L Ford. Moving oilfield equipment in and around the 4 corners area.

Leave a Reply

