Teaser Tuesday

I thought about my vow first thing this morning, before I knew Irene had disappeared, that I would try her at home again.  But thinking how in a single twenty-four-hour period she had locked herself in a bathroom stall, nearly been killed by walking out into a thunderstorm, and could easily have been lost forever by wandering into the woods, I knew she would be too much for me at home.

The Pleasure Was Mine by Tommy Hays

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on December 14, 2009, in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wow, that is some bad luck…and after all that she disappeared! I may have to check the rest of this story out.

    Mine is here.

  2. Great tease adding to my TBR list now. I would recommend Still Alice for you to read.

    My Teaser
    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2009/12/teaser-tuesday-wrong-mother.html

  3. wow, that is powerful.

    My teaser is here

    Have a great week and happy reading!

  4. I just read your review on Still Alice, my dad also has Alzeimers and I walked away from that book feeling like you did. I think we read it around the same time also.

  5. Three of my high school classmates (three that I know of) and friends have been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s and it seems as though there have been some very good books about Alzheimer’s in the past few years.

    Did you happen to see a television movie (years ago – you may have been too young) with Joanne Woodward: “I Remember Love.” It was excellent (heartbreaking . . .) and I recall an interview with Joanne who stated that at the time she was filming that movie, her mother was dealing with Alzheimer’s.

    Saying a prayer for you – I can only imagine how you must feel . . .

    Oh: and Julie Christi was in a movie about Alzheimer’s a couple of years ago that was quite well done. Can’t recall the name of it . . .

Leave a Reply

