boots and Barbara Kingsolver

Excerpt from High Tide in Tucson by Barbara Kingsolver:

I favor cowboy boots.  I don’t do high heels, because you never know when you might actually have to get somewhere, and most other entries in the ladies-shoes category look to me like Ol’ Dixie and Ol’ Dobbin trying to sneak into the Derby, trailing their plow.  Cowboy boots aren’t trying.  They say, “I’m no pump,and furthermore, so what?”  That characterizes my whole uniform, in fact:  oversized flannel shirts, jeans or cotton leggings, and cowboy boots when weather permits.  In summer I lean toward dresses that make contact with the body (if at all) only on the shiatsu acupressure points; maybe also a Panama hat; and sneakers.  I am happy.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on December 14, 2009, in Books, Fashion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

