A Gracious Plenty

“Oh mercy.”  The funeral director sighed.  “It’s a sad day when you close the eyes of somebody as sweet-natured as that girl for the last time.  Why, I remember when her mother came around asking for sponsorships to send her to a dance competition.  She could clog like nobody’s business, but her family didn’t have much money to spare.  She came home with a trophy from that contest, too, and she brought it to us to keep in our family lounge.  Bless her soul.”

“You’re seen her picture, Finch,” one of the grave diggers insisted.  “When she first ran away from home, they stapled flyers to all the light poles and ran her senior picture in the paper for a week.  You had to see it.  Everybody thought she’d been kidnapped.”‘

“Shoot,” another one said.  “I can’t believe she’s gone,” and he wiped a tear from his red cheek.  “I went to church to sit next to that girl.  I got saved six times just so she’d hug me.  She was so pretty, the flowers bowed their heads when she went by.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What is that bumper sticker?  “So many books, so little time.”

As usual, I have a different book ‘going’ in almost every room.  After lunch today, I read a little more of A Gracious Plenty by Sheri Reynolds – this was after reading a chapter of Homer’s Place by Harlan Koch when I sat for a few minutes in the Sewing Room.

I purchased A Gracious Plenty in 1997 in one of my favorite bookstores: The Tattered Cover Bookstore in Denver, Colorado.  It has been that many years the novel sat and waited on  my “To Read” Shelf.  About time to read it!

So many books – so little time!

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on November 26, 2009, in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Looks like we have some books in common. I also noticed the Lorrie Moore below. And we each have a pile of books to be read that goes way back. This summer I read Infinite Jest–it had been on my shelf since 1996!

    Thank you so much for linking to my blog!

  2. I’ve been reading like there is no tomorrow! I’m going to have to check my bookshelves to see what’s there that I have yet to read! I’m sure there are a few. Thanks for the reminder and I really like your blog!

Leave a Reply

