childhood

tummy_blog_final

Second Childhood

by Robert William Service
When I go on my morning walk,
Because I’m mild,
If I be in the mood to talk
I choose a child.
I’d rather prattle with a lass
Of tender age
Than converse in the high-brow class
With college sage.

I love the touch of silken hand
That softly clings;
In old of age I understand
Life’s little things.
I love the lisp of tiny tongue
And trusting eyes;
These are the joys that keep me young
As daylight dies.

For as to second childhood I
Draw gently near,
With happy heart I see the why
Children are dear.
So wise Professor, go your way,–
I am beguiled
To wistful loving by the gay
Laugh of a child.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on October 18, 2009, in family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Oh, what a cutey you were/are!!! Cute little doll in your hand, I wonder what you were holding in the other hand………
    Love,
    Dolores

Leave a Reply

