I love to cook (when I WANT to cook)

When my husband and I were first married, I had no experience in the kitchen.  My mother (and aunts and grandmother) were marvelous cooks.  And my mother did it all; I was rarely helping (except with the cleanup or table setting, etc).

Now, I understand – for when I’m in the kitchen, I really want to ‘do my own thing’ and have no help (until I holler for Hubby to come chop or grate or slice something – bless his heart).

woman-cookingHowever, I’m not enthusiastic about cooking when I have a dozen (or a hundred) other things/projects/commitments/obligations/duties.  For when I’m in the kitchen, I want to be IN the kitchen and not rushing through the preparation in order to get to a meeting on time or finish a pressing project.

Since his retirement, Dear Husband has become quite the cook (a very good one, I might add).  Often, when I come home from work (volunteer work – non-paying!), he will have prepared a truly Gourmet Meal – and how grateful I am for his skill and his care and concern in this regard.  He is often telling everyone that he only cooks for his health – so he doesn’t starve to death.  And, admittedly, if he didn’t cook, it might be just Grab whatever you find to eat, Sweetheart; I’m busy.”

Our oldest son has become an excellent and creative cook (which initially surprised me for I didn’t see this trait when he was younger!).  Our youngest bachelor son is also a good cook.  Our daughter is a very good cook.  But like me – none of them did much cooking until they left the nest.

How marvelous it is to enjoy cooking

and then enjoy eating

and fellowshipping

(that isn’t a word, I know)

with friends and family.

[Not that I’m averse to eating in restaurants, mind you . . . occasionally . . .]

If a pot is cooking, the friendship will stay warm. – Arab proverb


About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on October 17, 2009, in cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hope,
    I’m enjoying your blog which I get on my google reader. I found it when I was looking for your email address for someone researching the Ellis family of VA. When I first started genealogy you were a great help to me with my Sammons family. To refresh your memory. My GGG-grandmother was Jane “Janey” Sammons (c1783 NC- aft 1860 Anderson Co. SC). She married John B. Clarke.

    • I certainly do remember you, Susan. You also were a great help to me regarding this research.

      I’ve sorta put the research on the back burner (but it is never far from my mind). So good to reconnect!

      Hope

  2. You and your Dear Husband excellent cooks!!!!
    Dolores

Leave a Reply

