Serendipity

see the young girl kneeling in front - black outfit with musical notes

see the young girl kneeling in front - black outfit with musical notes

My sister twirled in many local and statewide competitions (and piled up the awards, I might add).

This photograph was taken at a competition in Albuquerque, New Mexico in March 1957.

FAST FORWARD to probably about 1983 or thereabouts when I attended one of the Rattler Reunions in Tucumcari, New Mexico.  There are literally thousands of ex-Tucumcarians (Tucumcari-ites??) who attend these reunions each year.

Well, this particular year, I kept noticing a young woman who looked so very familiar (she was the wife of one of my 1956 classmates).  Finally, I approached her and asked if she was from Albuquerque, New Mexico and had twirled in competitions.  Lo and behold: she wasShe did.  Of course, she didn’t remember me, but she remembered my sister from the numerous state competitions.  She exclaimed:  “I’m so glad to talk to someone!  I don’t know a soul here.” She was a fairly new bride and hadn’t been to any of the previous reunions.

For the life of me, now I can’t remember her maiden name – but her given name was Judy  – and she didn’t look any different in the 1980s than she did kneeling with her baton wearing the charming black outfit with the sequined musical notes (well she was all grown up, of course – but still had that sweet heart-shaped face and lovely smile).

Connecting in Tucumcari, New Mexico – who woulda thunk it?

Serendipity.  Connectedness. Instant friendships (albeit in the here and now of the Where We Are).

Life is so interesting

and surprising

and we meet so many

interesting folks

on our journey.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on September 26, 2009, in 1950s, New Mexico and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

