The Freedom to Read

bannedbooks_blog

It is no secret that I love to read; I cannot remember a time that I have not been reading – since I first began learning to make sense of letters before I entered school.

We are so fortunate that we have the freedom to read.

Since 1982 the American Library Association has compiled a list of challenged books.

Thank goodness that our libraries are  committed to people’s freedom to read.

American libraries saw more than 3,700 challenges, or written complaints, about books from 2000 to 2008, according to the American Library Association. People who challenge books try to get them restricted or removed from library shelves.

Below is a list of frequently challenged books.  Of these books, I never did get around to reading George Orwell’s 1984.

  1. The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald
  2. The Catcher in the Rye, J.D. Salinger
  3. The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck
  4. To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
  5. The Color Purple, Alice Walker
  6. Ulysses, James Joyce
  7. Beloved, Toni Morrison
  8. The Lord of the Flies, William Golding
  9. 1984, George Orwell
  10. The Sound and the Fury, William Faulkner
About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on September 23, 2009, in Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

