BANNED BOOKS WEEK (September 26 – October 3, 2009)

banned books week

Mapping Book Censorship

Banned Books Week is the only national celebration of the freedom to read. It was launched in 1982 in response to a sudden surge in the number of challenges to books in schools, bookstores and libraries. More than a thousand books have been challenged since 1982. The challenges have occurred in every state and in hundreds of communities.

I frequent libraries and I love to browse in bookstores (I really really REALLY miss The Tattered Cover in Denver!).

In my dreams I envision a great local bookstore in a corner of a Seguin Arts Center that houses an art gallery, theatre, coffee shop, upscale restaurant, outside seating areas with lovely foliage and sculpture.  Ah – in my dreams . . .


AND I envision a new spacious attractive accessible LIBRARY!

Perhaps . . . this dream . . . in my lifetime . . .

“Leaving any bookstore is hard, especially on a day in August, when the street outside burns and glares, and the books inside are cool and crisp to the touch; especially on a day in January, when the wind is blowing, the ice is treacherous, and the books inside seem to gather together in colorful warmth. It’s hard to leave a bookstore any day of the year, though, because a bookstore is one of the few places where all the cantankerous, conflicting, alluring voices of the world co-exist in peace and order and the avid reader is as free as a person can possibly be, because she is free to choose among them.” -Jane Smiley


About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on September 23, 2009, in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

