Texas Writer Joe R. Lansdale

savageseason_blogI think that Joe R. Lansdale is an acquired taste.  When I initially read Leather Maiden, I don’t think I “got it.”  I may have to give it another try.

Reading Savage Season is proving to be delightful.  I think I now ‘get it.’

The Austin Chronicle writes that Joe Lansdale is “the most consistently original and originally visceral writer the great state of Texas (or any other state for that matter) has seen in a score of flashpoint summers.”

_____

The blurb on the book jacket:

“A rip-roaring, high-octane, Texas-sized thriller, featuring two friends, one vixen, a crew of washed-up radicals, loads of money, and bloody mayhem.

“Hap Collins and Leonard Pine are best friends, yet they couldn’t be more different.  Hap is an East Texas white boy with a weakness for Texas women.  Leonard is a gay, black Vietnam vet.  Together, they stir up more commotion than a firestorm.  But that’s just the way they like it.  So when an ex-flame of Hap’s returns promising a huge score, Hap lets Leonard in on the scam, and that’s when things get interesting.  Chockful of action and laughs, Savage Season is the masterpiece of dark suspense that introduced Hap and Leonard to the thriller scene.  It hasn’t been the same since.”

Addendum:  the violence at the end of the book troubled me; I suppose I would have rather had a different ending.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on August 20, 2009, in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

