Ricotta Pancakes (I LOVE these!)

INGREDIENTS

3 eggs (yolks and whites separated)

3 tablespoons white sugar

1 pinch salt

The zest of 1 medium lemon (or less, to taste)

1 cup Ricotta cheese

1/2 cup flour

Butter for frying

COOKING INSTRUCTIONS

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk egg yolks, lemon zest, sugar, salt, Ricotta cheese and flour.  In a separate bowl, beat egg whites with an electric mixer until slightly stiff peaks are formed.  Fold egg whites into ricotta-flour mixture until well blended.
  2. Add a pat of butter to a skillet and griddle over medium high heat.  Spoon batter into the pan to form a pancake of the desired size.  Cook for 1 minute or until the top starts to bubble and/or the bottom is golden brown; flip the pancake onto the other side and cook until cooked thoroughly throughout (about 1-1/2 minutes).
  3. Repeat until the batter is gone.

Makes about 4 medium pancakes (I made six smaller ones).

For the life of me, I can’t recall where I obtained this recipe, however the cook used whipped cream and strawberries on the tops of the pancakes.  Hubby put a dollop of Ricotta cheese and topped with blueberry spread.  I ate plain – however, no way is this a plain pancake.  It was delicious (and could probably even be used as a not-too-sweet but delicious dessert).  Of course, the pancakes could be topped with  honey or syrup or jam and butter.

I give this FIVE STARS!

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on August 14, 2009, in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

