Question of the Day

Courtship:
How did you meet your spouse?   How long did you know each other before you were married?  Can you describe your wedding?

_______________________________________________

Every now and then I receive an e-mail question or quiz  that is being circulated among friends.  Recently the above question arrived in my e-mail box.  It makes one think back and remember a specific time.

A friend who has been diagnosed with Lou Gehrig’s [Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)] disease is sharing some of her junior high and high school memories. I am thoroughly enjoying her reminisces.

Our stories.

Our memories.

We all have stories and I feel it is important to leave some sort of  story regarding our lives for our children and grandchildren.  Why?  Because I know that I have wanted to know about my parents and grandparents and ancestors.   I’m also interested in my friends’ stories; we have so much to share and often our stories are shared experiences – the times we were with one another.  These are good memories.

I welcome friends’ answers to the above question in this posting.  Tell!

_____________________________

My answer:

  • I met my husband at a little hamburger ‘joint’ in Farmington, New Mexico.  He came to the Four Corners Area when this area experienced a huge oil and gas ‘boom.’  This was a very busy time in this part of the country and it was a teenage practice to ‘cruise’ Main Street – going from one end of town (The Chicken Shack) to the other end of town (The Chicken Hut).  A carload of guys parked by our car filled with teenage girls and we all struck up a conversation – and one thing led to another.
  • We were married almost three years later.
  • We eloped!  All the way to Aztec, New Mexico – to the Presbyterian Church.  A couple in the congregation were our witnesses.

____________________________

313

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on August 7, 2009, in concerns, friends, New Mexico, quizzes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I loved the question you posed to your readers… as well as the sentiment behind it. It’s one of the questions that I ask every person I interview (I’m a Video Biographer), and the answers always make me smile. It’s definitely my favorite part of each interview.

    And well, to answer your question:

    1). I met my husband in India. I was living there and he was visiting on a Research Scholarship. Of all the places in the country, he landed up mentoring at the Film Production House I was working at at that time.

    2). I knew him about a year before I decided I was ready to get married to this guy. He needed more time to rally around!

    3). I smiled all through the wedding. It was a happy event.

    Aditi Worcester,
    Save Their Story (Austin)

Leave a Reply

