the squaw dress – and ballerina shoes

During my teen years, I must have had a dozen different squaw dresses.  My mother was a marvelous seamstress and made all of my clothes.  We would wear squaw dresses with concho belts, turquoise and silver jewelry and I generally wore beaded moccasins.

My!  The fifties!!

believe the shoes are black ballerina shoes (ballerina shoes are BACK!)

believe the shoes are black ballerina shoes (ballerina shoes are BACK!)

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on August 6, 2009, in 1950s, Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh, how I loved my black ballerina shoes. They were so flat…, I’m sure they weren’t good for our feet, but who cares about feet.

  2. Raven Wenner

    I lusted for a squaw dress when I was a girl –but my mother didn’t sew, and they were too expensive to buy. This has to be one of the prettiest fashions American schoolgirls ever wore. I loved the rick-rack and the graceful swirl of the skirts.
    In Texas my school-mates lucky enough to have a squaw dress wore them with beaded moccasins, white unless they matched the color of the dress. In high school, if a girl was going steady with a guy, she sometimes coaxed her mother into sewing a western-cut shirt for the boyfriend which matched her favorite color squaw dress. (Their school mates would turn green with envy, which was the point of the exercise.)

    • I must have had a dozen squaw dresses (wish I had photos of all of them!). I loved them – and oh yes! The beaded moccasins – I had a white pair and a black pair that went to the ankle, with silver button clasps at the ankle. I had almost as many moccasins as I did squaw dresses. I remember so many ‘couples’ wearing matching shirts. My mom made two western shirts for me and a friend (we were 13-years old at the time, I think) and we loved them.

      ah – the memories . . .

      Thank you for your Squaw Dress memory!

  1. Pingback: squaw dress, huaraches, concho belt – and youth « Aimless musings

Leave a Reply

