The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society – an exceptional read

guernsey-literary-and-potato-peel-pie-society

From Susan Scott to Sidney

25th January, 1946

Dear Sidney,

Don’t believe the newspaper reports.  Juliet was not arrested and taken away in handcuffs.  She was merely reproved by one of Bradford’s constables, and he could barely keep a straight face.

She did throw a teapot at Gilly Gilbert’s head, but don’t believe his claim that she scalded him; the tea was cold.  Besides, it was more of a skim-by than a direct hit.  Even the hotel manager refused to let us compensate him for the teapot–it was only dented.  He was, however, forced by Gilly’s screams to call in the constabulary.

I’ve laughed at a great many portions of this book.  I’ve felt like weeping when reading of the hardships during the German occupation.  I can’t wait to get to the next page – and the next one – and I’m sure I will be sad when I finish the book, wondering if the next novel will be as good.

What a great read!

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on July 22, 2009, in Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

