Ignorance is anything but bliss – technology and me

We are recycling our 11-year-old computer and I'm rewiring my brain's snyapses trying to learn the 'new' computer!

We are recycling our 11-year-old computer and I'm rewiring my brain's synapses trying to learn the 'new' computer!

Naturally – when we replaced the computer, our laser printer didn’t like it and wouldn’t cooperate and the scanner wasn’t too happy either.  So – one computer, printer, and scanner later – we are back in business.  Sometimes I remember the Remington typewriter fondly (but then again . . .).

operational again

operational again

DH and Numero Uno Grandson set everything up - and we are back in business again.

DH and Numero Uno Grandson set up everything - and we are back in business again.

Until personal computers started to become common in the 1980s, most people grew up in homes where televisions and VCRs represented the height of technological advancement. The basic telephone was a constant for decades before cell phones hit the market.

“Kids have been wired to accept and embrace change. But when we were growing up, that wasn’t fostered,” said Monica Vila, 49, the founder of TheOnlineMom.com, a site that helps parents navigate the technology.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on July 14, 2009, in family, Seguin, Texas, This and That and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

