William Sammons – Greenville County, South Carolina

WILL OF WILLIAM SAMMONS

Greenville County, South Carolina

Administration File 7-8

In the name of God, amen.  I William Sammons being weak of body but sound of mind, thanks be to Almighty God for the same, do make and ordain this my last Will & Testament in manner and form following.

Item – I give to my grandson Henry Grady 50 acres of land lying {illegible} Halifax County, Virginia.

Item – I desire that my negro fellow Gilherd be sold at 12 months credit and with money arising from this sale to be divided between the children of Daniel and Samuel Comer.

Item – I desire that all money coming to me be carefully collected and my just debts be paid.

Item – I desire that all my estate not mentioned in my will be sold at 12 months credit and the money from {illegible} arising from such sale with the money collected to be divided into eight parts and to be divided between my children and such child as has not had land given them by me to draw two such parts.

Item – And lastly I nominate my son John Sammons to execute this my last will and testament in witness whereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal this 5th day of August 1804.

WILLIAM (X) SAMMONS

Signed, sealed and acknowledged in the presence of Thos. {illegible}, Walker Sammons, David McDaniel, Jno. Sammons.

Note:  William Sammons who married 1st Rebecca Ivey and married 2nd Annis Comer, widow of John Comer, was the father of John Sammons, Sr. who married Betty Walker, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Betty) Ellis Walker and had a son – John Sammons, Jr. born December 14, 1782 in North Carolina and died September 12, 1850 in Gwinnett County, Georgia.  John Sammons, Jr. married 1st Elizabeth Harrison and married 2nd Mary B. Harrison (her sister) – both daughters of Clement King and Elizabeth (Williams) Harrison.

Elizabeth Williams (wife of Clement King Harrison) was the daughter of Matthew Jouett Williams and Barbara Walker (Barbara was the sister of Elizabeth “Betty” Walker who married John Sammons, Sr.

It can get confusing!!

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on June 27, 2009, in family, genealogy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

