Thomas Walker – Will – Nottoway County, Virginia

WILL OF THOMAS WALKER, SENIOR

Will Book 1, Nottoway County, Virginia

With Inventory and Accounts, 1789-1802

Page 89:

WILL OF THOMAS WALKER, SENIOR

In the name of God amen.  I Thomas Walker of the parish and county of Nottoway being in good health and perfect disposing mind and memory but knowing the uncertainty of this mortal life do make and constitute and appoint this to be my last will and testament in manner and form following VIZ

After all my just debts are paid I give and dispose of my estate as follows:

Item:  I lend to my loving wife Betty Walker the whole of my estate both real and personal during her life or widowhood and at her death to dispose of one half of the land I now live on as she thinks proper, also at the death of my wife I desire that the whole of my stock of horses cattle hogs and sheep be sold and divided between my children Thomas Walker, Henry Walker, Richard Walker, Mary Jones, Betty Sammons, Susannah Hooper, Barbara Williams, Polly Wood and John Walker’s children – Item:  I give to my daughter Susannah Hooper one half of the land I now live on when divided for her to take her choice to her and her heirs forever –

Item:  I give the other half of my land to my grandson Allen Walker to him and heirs forever –

My will is that my wife Betty Walker shall dispose of all my household furniture at her death as she thinks proper –

Item:  My desire is that all the negroes that I have let my children have in their possession to them with their future increase –

Item:  I give to my son Richard Walker my negro man named Reubin –

Item:  My will and desire is that all the negroes that I now have not given with the future increase at my and my wife’s death be equally divided between my children VIZ – Henry Walker, Richard Walker, Mary Jones, Betty Sammons, Susannah Hooper, Barbara Williams, Polly Wood and the children of John Walker to them and their heirs forever.

Witness whereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal this twenty second day of June 1792.

Signed, sealed and acknowledged in the presence of:

Peter Lamkin

Daniel Walker

John Haymes

Thos. Walker (seal)

Acknowledged by witnesses 6 June 1793

_______________

My Walker lineage:

  • Thomas Walker and Betty (probably Elizabeth) Ellis
  • Elizabeth “Betty” Walker and John Sammon, Sr.
  • John Sammon, Jr. and Mary B. Harrison
  • Robert W. Sammon and Susannah Elizabeth Thrasher
  • Robert Walker Sammon and Maria de los Santos Leal
  • Elizabeth Clifford Sammon and Berlin Caldwell

AND

  • Thomas Walker and Betty (probably Elizabeth) Ellis
  • Barbara Walker and Matthew Jouett Williams
  • Elizabeth Williams and Clement King Harrison
  • Mary B. Harrison and John Sammon, Jr.
  • Robert W. Sammon and Susannah Elizabeth Thrasher
  • Robert Walker Sammon and Maria de los Santos Leal
  • Elizabeth Clifford Sammon and Berlin Caldwell

____________________

The following is copied from HISTORY OF GWINNETT COUNTY, GEORGIA

…of the children of Clement King Harrison, two were the wives of John Sammon, one the wife of James Baskin, another the wife of Matthew Wynn, and the only son, the late Major Mat. J. Williams, who is well remembered by many of our people and for a long time a resident of Lawrenceville and a lawyer of great ability.  He, like his father, was high spirited and a courtly gentleman.  He received his education at the military school of West Point, was an accomplished scholar and every inch a gentleman.  I might say much more of him, of his urbanity, his talents, his genial social qualities, but space will not permit.

Note:  Clement King Harrison and Elizabeth Williams did have other sons.  The Major Mat. J. Williams mentioned above was born Matthew Richard Tyrell Harrison and changed his name to that of his grandfather (Matthew Jouett Williams)  after graduating from West Point Military Academy.



About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on June 27, 2009, in family, genealogy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

