connecting – via the internet

genealogy research

genealogy research

Remembering the days when I did my genealogy research in the libraries, courthouses, Federal Center, Salt Lake City  LDS library and typed everything on my old Remington and then Underwood typewriter – sending off letters to State Archives and connecting with fellow researchers by Snail Mail – when there was no internet.

It is a different Day.  Recently some Harrison Cousins contacted me by e-mail  regarding our common Harrison ancestor and I began going through my ‘stuff’ (papers, books, CDs, etc.).  Every day I discover that another book was lost in the flood.  This particular day I was searching for the History of Grindal Shoals (which is chock full of information about some of my families).  Alas (same Old Flood Story);  it is gone gone gone.

Some of my family (Sammon in particular) lived for a period of time in Greenville County, South Carolina (trivia:  actress Joanne Woodward’s family was from Greenville).  Although I am not a direct descendant of Wade Hampton, there were several intermarriages with his family and branches of mine.

An excerpt from History of Greenville County South Carolina by James M. Richardson:

The body of Indians turning northward from the Hite home next visited the Hampton plantation.  Here Mr. Hampton, his wife, his son, Preston, who had recently returned from his mission to the Cherokee country, and a grandson (infant child of James Harrison), were killed and their home burned.  Another grandson, John Bynum, was captured and carried away into the Indian country, where he was held prisoner for several months.  The Hampton family here suffering so heavily at the hands of the savages, was the same which produced the immortal Wade.  His grandfather, also named Wade, was at the time with the army of North Carolina.  James Harrison, father of the slain child, later moved to the “Great Cane Brake” in Greenville County and became the head of that large and illustrious family, living today throughout all the upper counties of the state.  In later years, B. F. Perry of Greenville was to engage in a duel with a descendant of the captured grandson, John Bynum.

It is interesting to me to read  these histories whether it pertains to my family or not; I find  the history fascinating.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on June 10, 2009, in genealogy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

