classic story of good and evil

fatherson_blog

I can’t imagine never reading another book by Larry Brown; I will probably just re-read some of the books already published.  He left us too young – too soon.

Fathers and Sons takes place in the rural American South of 1968.  It is a Good Read.

It was Saturday when they drove the old car into town, returning him, passing by the big houses with their blankets of dark grass beneath the ancient oaks.  Midday.  A hot wind blew in the car windows and rattled papers on the dash as they went up the wide and shaded avenue toward the square.  It was cooler here in the hills than it had been in the Delta that morning, though not by much.

“It’s been dry,” Puppy said.  “Daddy’s well quit on him again.  I’m afraid it dried up.”

Glen scratched at a tick bite behind his ear and crossed his legs in the seat.

“What’s he do for water?”

“I hauled him some.  His pump may be messed up again, I don’t know.  I guess you can see about it when you get out there.  You are gonna go out there, ain’t you?”

“I don’t know if I’ll make it out there today or not,” Glen said.  “I don’t see nobody here to meet us.”

“What’d you expect?  A parade?  Why don’t you go on out there and see him?”

“I’ll go see him sometime.”

“He ain’t in real good shape, you know.”

“I ain’t in real good shape myself,” Glen said.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on June 10, 2009, in Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

