Farmington High School Class of 1956

A teenager in the 1950s (at least where I lived) was rather like the scenes in Happy Days.  Or perhaps my brain tends to remember it that way.

My Farmington high school friends and my childhood Tucumcari friends helped to form who I am today (whoever that may be).  I treasure the memories of these friends and these years..

Posted a Class of 1956 in 2006 photograph on my Photo Blog, Life in Seguin and Other Aimless Musings.

We didn’t have a large class; I believe there were 106 in our graduating class (or maybe it was 126 – Miss Louise Lyons would attest to my ignorance in math).  Thus, I dare say we knew each of our classmates.

Our officers in 1956 were:

President Alvin Watson (deceased)
Vice President Richard Young (deceased)
Secretary Dustin Wilson (deceased)
Treasurer Barbara Tefertiller (Virginia Beach, Virginia)
Representatives:
Larry Neely (Albuquerque, New Mexico)
Barbara Burnham (Farmington, New Mexico)
Hope Coslett (Seguin, Texas)

SPONSORS were Louise Lyons (deceased), Kenneth Woodrum (deceased), Alfred Maxey, Joan Larson, M. W. Ammon (deceased?), and Alma Humphrey.

Ah – the 1950s . . . football, basketball, and softball games, track meets, pep rallies, sock hops, Chinese fire drill, swimming in Jackson Lake, broken hearts, proms, going steady, breaking up, college applications, piling in dad’s car to ‘cruise’ main street, meeting at the Chicken Shack or the Chicken Hut, kidnap breakfasts, slumber parties on and on – the memories flow.

THEN: Vietnam.  We grew up.  We grew up.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on June 5, 2009, in 1950s, New Mexico and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

