Tucumcari Classmates

Infrequently I would see some of my Tucumcari friends at state functions such as FHA (Future Homemakers of America – I am now such a Creature!), Commercial Club competitions, high school football games (not that often though since the Farmington {in the Four Corners area of New Mexico}  and Tucumcari teams were in different divisions), Student Council, etc.

In 1955 at Girls State I was delighted to see Sandra Snider and Mahota Mitchell.  Of course, we were kept so very busy, there wasn’t much time for visiting.  Don’t believe I snapped any pictures of Sandra but happened to be passing by (camera in tow of course) when the Girls State photographer had lined up the city to which Mahota Mitchell belonged and I took that opportunity to take a picture.

Oh my – the Tucumcari memories have become a Flood!

See Mahota on my Photo Blog: Life in Seguin and Other Aimless Musings.

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on May 31, 2009, in 1950s, friends, New Mexico and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Mary Holmes Tackett

    Dear Hope, My what a surprise! Yes, I do remember the famous play with the scorching kiss! That was a long time ago. I have not been to a Rattler Reunion but do remember so many of the names you mentioned, especially Mahota Mitchell and you. I live on acreage outside of OKC. My husband, Kenneth, is a semi-retired dirt contractor. I do Premier Designs jewelry sales part-time to keep me out of trouble!

    I moved from Tucumcari mid-term my sophmore year to Albuquerque. I was there until my senior year and then was in Los Angeles for the first semester and then back to Albuquerque to graduate. I did not have many school friends but lots of church friends. It was good to hear from you. Lets do it again. Mary

Leave a Reply

