Missing Larry Brown

missinglarry

I so looked forward to reading the next book  Larry Brown would write; he left us too soon.

Copied from On Fire:

“Fear.  The fine line you walk where what you have to do drives you to do it up against what your better judgment tells you not to.  A firefighter cannot be a coward.   He can be a lot of things, a prick, a thief, a liar, but he cannot be a coward and he probably will not be a child molester, although I’d bet somebody a million dollars there is at least one child molester somewhere in the fire service.  A man who won’t tote his own weight, who won’t hump his own hose, won’t be tolerated.”

Larry Brown’s  novel Father and Son broke my heart.  To think that I will never read another line of his writing . . .

Larry Brown (1951-2004)

The Rough South of Larry Brown

About hopeseguin

Who am I? I'm still discovering just who I am, I suppose. A. Powell Davis writes that "Life is just a chance to grow a soul."

Posted on May 25, 2009, in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

